The Priory of the Orange Tree - Samantha Shannon

The Priory of the Orange Tree

By Samantha Shannon

  • Release Date: 2019-02-26
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 323 Ratings

Description

Get ready for Samantha Shannon's new novel, A Day of Fallen Night, coming in February 2023!

The New York Times bestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle).

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:
AMAZON (Top 100 Editors Picks and Science Fiction and Fantasy) * CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY * BOOKPAGE * AUTOSTRADDLE

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction--but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

Reviews

  • An absolute delight

    5
    By samurai rusk
    I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this book. A true treat to have gone on that adventure. I only wish it didn’t end.
  • A great tale, though a bit rushed

    4
    By St_Every_An
    This is a refreshing story with interesting characters, elements of our own world and fantastic beasts and mages. Some parts are rushed however, leaving you wanting just that bit more. Well worth a read though!
  • Wow.

    5
    By BeccaWhatTheHecka
    Easily has become my favorite book. What a ride.
  • Fantastic story.

    5
    By Cyn1774
    It has a little bit of everything. Some adventure, romance and intrigue.
  • amazing book- great sapphic rep

    5
    By blah blah28
    <3
  • Astonishing

    4
    By moviefan11235813
    This book is hundreds of pages long, but I could have read thousands. I think if you like Harry Potter, A Song of Ice and Fire, and Buffy the Vampire slayer, you will like this book. In fact, you will probably love it.
  • Amazing

    5
    By T.wister
    Well-written epic fantasy with possibly the most diverse, textured characters I’ve ever read. 800-odd pages and I’m still dying for another glimpse of this world.
  • Confusing

    1
    By JLO in Michigan
    I quit reading it after a couple chapters. I couldn’t keep the characters or the plot straight. I found it very confusing. Wish I could get my money back.